A Man of God?!?!?

In 2002, I dedicated my life to Jesus. I began blogging daily, sometimes multiple times per day. But, in the last few years, life has gotten the best of me. I am working two jobs and have two growing daughters. My wife and I are involved in multiple organizations outside the home. So, I don’t feel like I’m close to God anymore.

Then something happens: someone catches me out of the blue and says, “I know you’re a man of God.”

How can they say that about me? They don’t even know me. In one case on Friday night, it was a person I had net five minutes earlier. In another case, it was a person of a different faith.

I certainly don’t feel like a man of God. I find pleasure in the things of this world, such as video games and pretty ladies. I don’t read the Bible or pray often enough. Yet my manager called me a “Brother in Faith.”

What shines inside of me – bright enough for others to see, but in a wavelength to which my own eyes are blind?

I’m humbled. I feel unworthy to be called a “man of God.” Yet it builds up my spirit. I am encouraged by these words from friends and complete strangers. It pushes me to re-establish my relationship with my Heavenly Father.

So, what’s the point? I have lived a lie for most of my life. 36 of my 48 years were spent saying I believed, but still lived as though He meant nothing to me. But I felt different in 2002 than I did before. And I believe that He truly changed my life. These words of encouragement are designed to restore that which I have tossed aside.

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Jesus Christ our Lord.” – Romans 8:39, ESV

I am free to be the man that God wants me to be. My eyes are very slowly being opened to that fact.

Leave a Reply

