On a Road Marked with Suffering

Though there’s pain in the offering
Blessed Be Your Name

I don’t think I’m alone when I say I’ve experienced true suffering.  And I’m not talking about the excruciating pain of passing a kidney stone, either.  Although that was mighty painful.
The nurse told my wife “Now he knows what it’s like to give birth!”
So my lovely, compassionate wife took my hand, looked into my eyes and said “Push!”

But that’s another story.

Spiritual suffering.  Emotional anguish.  Mental agony.  Life is full of it.  Though some refuse to admit it, we have all experienced it.  It’s that time in life when you feel so empty there’s nothing left to give.

Some suffering is self-inflicted.  I believe my experience with bipolar disorder was due to the fact that I leaned on alcohol as a god rather than the One True God.  I’m not saying that God cursed me with manic-depression, but He did allow me to fall into it on my own.  The good news is, He pulled me out of it.

Much suffering, however, is the product of simply living in a fallen world.  The world is cursed as a result of Adam’s original sin.  We must live under that curse until we reign with God in Heaven.

So the road is marked with suffering.  And we still must praise God.  Why would He be so bold as to demand that of us?  Could it be that He knows this life is short and before we know it our suffering will be over?  Our message to the world is, “Yeah, life sucks.  But God loves us just the same, and blesses us with peace in the midst of our suffering.”

And there’s pain in the offering.  How can we give when we are completely empty?  Empty of money?  Empty of food?  Empty of love?  Again, God blesses us with the means to give even when we have nothing to give.  and we are once again blessed with His peace that passes all understanding.

Blessed Be Your Name!

Leave a Reply

