Then Why Don’t I Do More About It?

I was listening to “Ministry of Lost Souls” in the car with my girls and singing along.  Dream Theater says the song is about a young girl who is saved from drowning.  The man who rescued her died in the act.  I have listened to the song for two years now, and can find nothing like that in the words.  Rather, I hear Jesus Christ calling to each of us:

Remember me?  I gave you life.  You would not take it.  Your suffering was all in vain.  It’s almost over now.  Don’t turn your back on paradise.

and at the end:

Wanted to deserve a place, a place beside you.  This time when I reached out my hand, it reached all the way to Heaven.

Remember me?  I gave you life.  You would not take it.  Your suffering was all in vain.  It’s almost over now.  Good-bye.  It’s almost over now.  Good-bye.  It’s time I released you from this life.  Don’t turn your back on Paradise!

As I sang along with it in the car (as I’m prone to do), I got misty and choked up.  My youngest daughter said, “Is Daddy crying?”  So I decided to tell them what was going through my head as I sang it.

“Imagine your life is coming to an end.  Jesus is standing there telling you, ‘it’s almost over now.  Goodbye.  Don’t turn your back on Paradise.’  And if you do turn your back, it’s gone forever.”

And I wept.

I discovered last night that I have a passion about eternity.  But there still must be something stronger in my life, because I rarely talk to friends about it.  I am more likely to talk about it with strangers.  I am so worried about what others think about me; that they may think I am ‘weird’, I don’t say anything about it.  It’s like Kutless said:

My conversation is leading nowhere
And we talk of God but still I don’t share
So many times that I just never saw the chance

It’s like me to never see
When it came, when it went
Now it’s gone away

I still pray for God to give me strength.  That I may truly be a stranger in this world and an emissary of His Kingdom.

One Response to Then Why Don’t I Do More About It?

  1. Pingback: Doing Something About It « Life of a (not so) Harry Man

Leave a Reply

