Like a Dog, part III

This thought keeps coming to me.  And I can’t help it!  Tell me what you think of this:

Just before Christmas, a dog showed up on our porch.  She wasn’t just any dog, she was a beautiful white husky with blue eyes.  Majestic and muscular, I have not had a dog in my house more beautiful than her.  And I love my dogs, but she is a beautiful dog.  We posted signs around the neighborhood that said, “If you have lost a white dog, we may have her.”  And it had our phone number.  Our phone rang one night, and the caller described Blue, even down to the collar she wore.  He come over that night and picked her up.  She was gone before Christmas day.  My daughters cried.  I have to admit that, even though I knew we couldn’t afford another dog, I got a little misty when she left our lives.

And that’s the end of the story.

Until just before New Year’s.  She showed up at our house again, looking like she hadn’t eaten a bite.  There was a rope around her neck, and she was much more skittish than before.  My wife called me at work and told me that Blue had returned.  I didn’t want to say it, but a small part of me jumped for joy.  When I saw her, my heart broke.  She ate so much more than she did before.  It took a few days, but she filled back out.  We welcomed her into our home and prayed, “is it right for us to keep her?”  The peace and joy we felt, as well as comments from friends and internet about huskies picking their families, led us to believe this was right.

She is now a member of our pack.  A chihuahua, a lab/collie mix, a husky and a great dane.  And the two bigger dogs want to eat the cat…

Blue belonged to another master.  A master who, apparently, did not treat her right.  He kept her, but did not show her love or compassion.  At our house, she experienced love and compassion.  I’m not trying to toot our horn, but I have an illustration from this.

Many people out there belong to another master.  They belong to a master that uses them to his own ends, then throws them away.  That master is sin.  Like Blue, those people will recognize love and compassion, even especially when undeserved.  They may question why, but they won’t turn it down.  The love we show to the people of this world, people just like us, will demonstrate to them the love of Christ.  And by loving others, rather than judging them for their sin, we will bring Christ into their lives.

If we kept turning Blue out to the master, she would eventually not return to the love in our house.  Likewise, those who are slaves to sin will not return to the love in the house of God if we turn them out.

I gotta admit something else – I’m not sure how to close this out.  But I had to get the idea out of my head before it left on its own…

Leave a Reply

