The Ministry of Lost Souls

Ten days ago, I blogged about Christian reality in secular heavy metal.  Today, as a follow-up, I would like to tell you about one of the bands we discussed.  Dream Theater is a progressive rock group that mixes all I love about rock music.  They are Yes meets Metallica.  In 2007, they released “Systematic Chaos”.  I dare you to listen to this album through Christian glasses and tell me what you hear.

Unfortunately, my iPod only got three of the songs from the CD:

So, I listened to those three songs, over and over again, whilst cleaning out my garage.  I’ll troubleshoot later.  There are bigger headaches than that…  Anyway – those three songs add up to forty minutes of music.  Working outside when the temperature is pushing 100° F and the humidity is pushing 100%, one’s mind tends to wander.  Mine wandered.  I rocked out to these three songs as heavy metal and as progressive rock.

Then I put on my Christian glasses.  Read the lyrics to “The Ministry of Lost Souls“.  Imagine Christ singing it.  Imagine Him singing it to YOU.
Remember me?
I gave you life
You would not take it
Your suffering
was all in vain
It’s almost over now
Don’t turn your back on paradise

I gave you life and you would not take it.  Your suffering was all in vain.  Don’t turn your back on paradise.

Go back to “In the Presence of Enemies.”  Much like Darth Sidious (Chancellor Palpatine) from Star Wars, the devil calls us with flattery and empty promises:
Do you still wait for your God
And the symbol of your faith?

I can free you from this Hell and misery
You should never be ashamed my son
I can give you power beyond anything
Trust me you will be the chosen one

Trust me.  Yeah, you’re from the government and you’re here to help me, right?

Most of the songs on Systematic Chaos offer a seemingly beautiful promise from an unexpected source.  A kiss from a vampire in “Forsaken”.  A bottle of booze in “Repentance”.  Compulsions in “Constant Motion”.  Each of these promises turns out to be hollow, when faced with the source.  I’ll let you learn how the story ends on your own.  Buy the CD.  Listen to the words.  And let me know what you think.

Adios,
Clay

Leave a Reply

