‘Til Death do us Part

I am not going to recite statistics. We all know that, for the most part, divorce has been a status symbol from the 1970s onward. It’s kinda like folks have lost the meaning of the word “vow”. The Americans who fought and struggled together now have decided that it is much simpler to throw it all away and start over again. Some start over and over and over…

So I am honored to say that I have known a couple for my entire life that did not give up when the going got tough. Through the Navy, business trips, two teenage boys, health and wealth issues, they held up their end of the bargain and stayed together. I’m very happy to say that the title of today’s entry is not yet here.

See, this past Saturday was a day worth commemorating. My folks have been married for fifty years. That is their “golden” anniversary. That’s a l-o-n-g time to put up with anybody. And my folks have made it this far.

Now, I’m not suggesting it’s been all hunky-dory for the last fifty years. They’ve had their share of disagreements. But through it all, they have managed to keep their promise to each other and to God. To remain husband and wife to the very end.

I look up to my Mom and Dad as an inspiration. I thank them for setting this example for my brother and I. The example of sticking together regardless of what others expect. The example of keeping a promise. The example of Holy Matrimony.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

